Dadasaheb Phalke 1870-1944 | From GK Perspective


Updated on:

Dadasaheb Phalke

Dadasaheb Phalke – The Father of Indian Cinema

Dadasaheb Phalke: Dadasaheb Phalke was an Indian producer, director, and screenwriter, born in Mumbai on 30 April 1870. He is known as the “Father of Indian Cinema”. In his golden memory, and honor for his lifetime contribution to Indian cinema, the Government of India introduced the Dadasaheb Phalke Award in the year 1969.

Dadasaheb Phalke Ji made a total of 95 movies and 26 short films during his entire film career. One of his most appreciated and noted works includes Shri Krishna Janma in the year 1918.

Dadasaheb Phalke Ji began his career as a small-town photographer in Godhra. He worked for the Archeological Survey of India (ASI) as a draftsman. He later became a printer opened a printing press at Lonavla under the name of “Phalke Engraving and Printing Works” or “Shri Phalke’s Engraving and Photo Printing” and became quite successful in it. However, after a fallout with his partner, he turned to the motion picture. Phalke Ji made his first film, Raja Harishchandra, in 1912-13 and thereby becoming the first Indian to make a film.

Phalke Ji formed a film company, named Hindustan Films and set up a model studio to trained technicians, actors, but unfortunately, the idea failed miserably. His last silent movie Setubandhan was released in the year 1932. This film was later released with dubbing. During 1936-38, he produced his last film Gangavataran (1937), before retiring and settling down in Nashik. He died on 16 February 1944.

About Dadasaheb Phalke Award:

The Dadasaheb Phalke Award is India’s highest award in the field of Cinema and Television is presented every year at the National Films Awards ceremony by the Directorate of Film Festivals, which is an organization set up by the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting. The very first recipient of this award was Devika Rani who received it in the year 1969 on the ceremonial occasion of the 17th National Films Awards.

The recipients of the Dadasaheb Phalke Award are honored for their “outstanding contribution to the growth and development of the Indian cinema.” The winners of this award are selected by an independent committee that incorporates eminent personalities from the Indian film industry. The award consists of a Swarna Kamal (Golden Lotus) medallion, a shawl, and a cash prize of Rs. 10 Lakh.

Who was the first winner of Dadasaheb Phalke Award?

The answer is, Devika Rani in the year 1969

Dadasaheb Phalke Awards 2020 Winners:

1Best FilmSuper 30
2Best ActorHrithik Roshan (Super 30)
3Most Promising ActorKiccha Sudeep
4Best Actor in Television SeriesDheeraj Dhoopar
5Best Actress in TelevisionDivyanka Tripathi
6Most Favourite Television ActorHarshad Chopda
7Most Favourite Jodi in Television SeriesSriti Jha and Shabbir Ahluwalia (Kumkum Bhagya)
8Best Television SeriesKumkum Bhagya
9Best Playback Singer MaleArmaan Malik
10Best Reality ShowBigg Boss 13

List of previous recipients of Dadasaheb Phalke Award: Dadasaheb Phalke Award Winner List

Ceremonial YearRecipientFilm industry
2019 (67th) RajnikanthTamil
2018 (66th)Amitabh BachchanHindi
2017 (65th)Vinod KhannaHindi
2016 (64th)Kasinathuni ViswanathTelugu
2015 (63rd)Manoj KumarHindi
2014 (62nd)Shashi KapoorHindi
2013 (61st)GulzarHindi
2012 (60th)PranHindi
2011 (59th)Soumitra ChatterjeeBengali
2010 (58th)K. BalachanderTamil, Telugu
2009 (57th)D. RamanaiduTelugu
2008 (56th)V. K. MurthyHindi
2007(55th)Manna DeyBengali, Hindi
2006 (54th)Tapan SinhaBengali, Hindi
2005 (53rd)Shyam BenegalHindi
2004 (52nd)Adoor GopalakrishnanMalayalam
2003 (51st)Mrinal SenBengali
2002 (50th)Dev AnandHindi
2001 (49th)Yash ChopraHindi
2000 (48th)Asha Bhosle Hindi, Marathi
1999 (47th)Hrishikesh MukherjeeHindi
1998 (46th)B. R. ChopraHindi
1997 (45th)Kavi PradeepHindi
1996 (44th)Sivaji GanesanTamil
1995 (43rd)RajkumarKannada
1994 (42nd)Dilip KumarHindi
1993 (41st)Majrooh SultanpuriHindi
1992 (40th)Bhupen HazarikaAssamese
1991 (39th)Bhalji PendharkarMarathi
1990 (38th)Akkineni Nageswara RaoTelugu
1989 (37th)Lata Mangeshkar Hindi, Marathi
1988 (36th)Ashok KumarHindi
1987 (35th)Raj KapoorHindi
1986 (34th)B. Nagi ReddyTelugu
1985 (33rd)V. Shantaram Hindi, Marathi
1984 (32nd)Satyajit RayBengali
1983 (31st)Durga KhoteHindi, Marathi
1982 (30th)L. V. PrasadHindi, Tamil, Telugu
1981 (29th)NaushadHindi
1980 (28th)Paidi JairajHindi, Telugu
1979 (27th)Sohrab ModiHindi
1978 (26th)Raichand BoralBengali, Hindi
1977 (25th)Nitin BoseBengali, Hindi
1976 (24th)Kanan DeviBengali
1975 (23rd)Dhirendra Nath GangulyBengali
1974 (22nd)Bommireddy Narasimha ReddyTelugu
1973 (21st)Ruby Myers (Sulochana)Hindi
1972 (20th)Pankaj MullickBengali & Hindi
1971 (19th)Prithviraj KapoorHindi
1970 (18th)Birendranath SircarBengali
1969 (17th)Devika RaniHindi

Who was the first recipient of the Dadasaheb Phalke award?

Devika Rani in the year 1969

When Government of India introduced the Dadasaheb Phalke Award?

In the year 1969.

Who was Dadasaheb Phalke’s wife?

Girija Karandika. She was renamed Saraswati after the marriage.

How many Movies did Dadasaheb Phalke made?

Dadasaheb Phalke Ji made a total of 95 movies and 26 short films during his entire film career.

Who won Dadasaheb Phalke award in 2021?

The award is not declared still Publication of this Post.

What is the name of the first Indian movie?

Raja Harishchandra.

For more General Knowledge Click Here

Leave a Comment